Donatello

Uffizi_Donatello

Donatello’s statue outside of the Uffizi Gallery in Italy

Donato di Niccolò di Betto Bardi, known as simply Donatello, was born around 1386 and was one of the Early Renaissance’s most famous sculptors. I did posts on Michelangelo, Leonardo, and Raphael… so I figured I better include Donatello. The Ninja Turtles were named after these 4 famous Renaissance artists. Donatello’s specialty was sculptures and statues, not painting. He started out as an assistant to Lorenzo Ghiberti and helped him with the first bronze doors of Florence’s Baptistery (kind of like a church). Donatello did a lot of religious sculptures for churches and wealthy people throughout his career. Donatello died in Florence in 1466.  I couldn’t find any really cool video’s on Donatello, but here is the best one I could find. They guy talks funny, but that is because he is not from America. The video shows some of Donatello’s famous works.

