Paul Klee

paulklee

WHO: Paul Klee

Paul Klee was born on December 18, 1879 in Switzerland. His dad was a music teacher and his mother was a singer. When Paul was little he liked music and drawing. He could play the violin by the time he was 7 years old. (There is no way I could have played the violin when I was 7 years old!) His grandmother gave him sidewalk chalk when he was 8 years old. (Now I could do that when I was 8) His parents wanted him to do music stuff at first, but when he got older he decided he wanted to be an artist. In 1898 his parents let him study art at the Academy of Fine Arts in Munich, Germany. He was really good at drawing, but had trouble painting because he couldn’t figure out how to use color. In 1905 he began experimenting with different techniques and even exhibited some of his art. In 1912 he traveled to Paris where he was exposed to different forms of abstract art. While there, he started experimenting with color. In 1914 he went to Tunisia. It is here where he came to recognize his progress using color. He said,  “Colour has taken possession of me; no longer do I have to chase after it, I know that it has hold of me forever… Colour and I are one. I am a painter.”  Below are some of his paintings that I thought were pretty cool looking… especially the goldfish one:

Paul-Klee-In-the-houses-of-St.-Germain-

WHO: Paul Klee

WHAT: In den Häusern von St. Germain (In the Houses of St. Germain)

WHEN: 1914

Paul_Klee,_Der_Goldfisch

WHO: Paul Klee

WHAT: Der Goldfisch (The Goldfish)

WHEN: 1925

Klee_Paul_Cat_and_Bird

WHO: Paul Klee

WHAT: Katze und Vogel (Cat and Bird)

WHEN: 1928

–> check out this cool Paul Klee art project: Abstract Scatch Art

